Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
Awards & Recognition
Share |
Awards & Recognition

Nominate Your Deserving Co-Workers for State Awards!

OAHPERD is seeking nominations for Teacher of the Year and the other awards listed at the right. The recipient of the awards will be honored at the annual state convention. To initiate the awards process, click the award you would like to nominate someone for and complete the online application form for consideration.

Deadline is October 13, 2017

2016 Award Winners

Memorial Scholarship - Joel B. Waits

Memorial Scholarship - Rachel Negry

Elementary Teacher of the Year - Doug Stebbins

Secondary Teacher of the Year -  Selene Kelley

Meritorious Award - Garry Boywer


Young Professional Award - 
Heather Barbour

Recreation Professional of the Year - Sue Sutherland 

Honorary Lifetime Member Award - Thomas P. Martin


JRFH/HFH Scholarship - Karli Scaffide
Research Grant Recipients - Dr. Takahrio Sato and Mr. Kevin Eckert (Kent State University)

Research Grant Recipients - Dr. Ann-Catherine Sullivan (Youngstown State University)



Ohio Gold - 
  • Washington K-1 Elemntary School:Tiffin City School District

Physical Educator: Angie Ellis

  • Timmons Elementary School: Kenston Local School District

Physical Educators: Chris Maistros and Jeff George

  • Indian Hill Middle Schooll: Indian Hill Exempted Village School

Physical Educators: Shalee Osborn and Lisa Sullivan

Ohio Silver - 

  • Hawkins Elementary School: Toledo Public Schools

Physical Educator: Sandy Crossen

  • Avondale Elementary School: Plainville Local Schools

Physical Educator: Kent Hamilton

  • Bellefontaine Middle School: Bellefontaine City Schools

Physical Educators: Chery Poppel, Jason Carlton, & Bill Low


Jump Rope for Heart/ Hoops for Heart Awards -

  • Top Jump Rope for Heart Participant: Madicyn Rupp 
    Norwayne Elementary School
    •   Raised $5,020.00
  • Top Hoops for Heart Participant: Brock Kompa 
    Freedom Trail Elementary School
    •  Raised $1,194.00

  • Rookie of the YearKleptz Early Learning Center
    Northmont City School District
    • Mike Porter, Coordinator
    • Raised $10,928.38


Top District - Jump Rope for Heart/Hoops for Heart 

  •  Cheshire Elementary - $ 7,038.27
  • Freedom Trail Elementary - $ 14,073.66
  • Glen Oak Elementary - $ 10,778.89
  • Liberty Tree Elementary - $ 11,794.80
  • Oak Creek Elementary - $ 2,753.25
  • Olentangy Orange Middle -  $ 25.00
  • Olentangy Shanahan Middle - $ 1,209.23
  • Wyandot Run Elementary -  $ 9,174.00
  • Alum Creek Elementary - $ 11,862.00
  • Olentangy Meadows Elem.  - $ 5,940.83
  • Scioto Ridge Elementary - $ 17,916.19
  • Tyler Run Elementary -  $ 21,039.25
  • Walnut Creek Elementary -  $ 15,189.00


Adapted Physical Educator of the Year
Dance Educator of the Year
Elementary Physical Education Teacher of the Year
Health Professional of the Year
Honor Award
Honorary Life Award
Meritorious Award
Legacy Award
Middle School & Secondary School Physical Educator of the Year
Recreation Professional of the Year
Young Professional of the Year
Ohio Gold Award
Memorial Scholarship
Jump Rope for Heart/ Hoops for Heart Scholarship